RSS

Why Costco Gas is not Really Cheaper

25 Jan

I want to be honest, although I am a Costco member, I don’t really enjoy shopping there. I hate going through traffic, in and around the vicinity of the store. I hate going around circles finding a parking spot. And I hate lining up in the register to pay. Sorry, Costco lovers (which includes my youngest brother). This is not a hate campaign but I’m just sharing my opinion.

On the contrary, it’s not really an all hate experience for me. As a matter of fact, there are things I love about Costco. First, their fast food. I love their hot dog/soda combo for an unbeatable of $1.50. Love, love the free refills. (Ooops, got to be careful with calorie intake). Second, the whole roast chicken for under $5. It’s so cheap yet very  juicy, tender and  yummmmy!!! Third, the free food samplings…the real reason why shopping takes a lot longer than what it should normally take.

Let’s talk about filling up gas at Costco. Their gas station is a few cents cheaper than competitors. Yet, you  have to go through a long of queue of vehicles and wait for your turn to fill-up. Here’s the debate, though. Is it really cheaper??? Let’s take my car, for example, which has a 15 gallon capacity tank. If Costco gas is 20 cents cheaper, that meant a savings of $3. Considering the time that I spent lining up and idling my car which is a waste of fuel, causes engine damage and air pollution, it’s not really worth it.

But hey, don’t let this stop you from filing up gas there. SHHHH, I still do. Fill-up gas between 6-8 am when there’s no line. You have to do your shopping though at another time because the store doesn’t open until 10 am.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 01/25/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Why Costco Gas is not Really Cheaper

  1. Arnold

    01/18/2011 at 5:10 pm

    If I did not read the whole article, I was going to bring up the idea that going to Costco gas station early in the morning or after it closes, then the wait may not be existent at all. Costco gas station closes at least an hour to an hour and half after the main store closes. Another incentive other than 10 cents or more savings at Costco is the rebate of 3% when filling up gas.

     
  2. FedEngr

    01/26/2011 at 12:07 pm

    I’m not a Costco member. I use coupons when I shop. I’m sure I’m getting a better deal.

     
  3. Cesar

    01/28/2011 at 9:32 am

    I will still get my gas n shop at Costco. Just as this article said you got to know when to fill up your tank. The same thing with shopping, picking the right day and time is the key. I enjoy the hot dog combo and a lot of free food inside. Most of all I believe I get a better price than outside overall. And as a form of bonus a get a hefty rebate check for shopping at Costco. That’s one shopping spree for free!

     

Leave a comment