RSS

Buy Plants from Hardware Stores, Not Nurseries (Seriously???)

25 Jan

In the Philippines, you can do gardening without spending anything on plants. All you have to do is to scout around the neighborhood for any seedlings, twigs and even pots of any plants or trees of your liking. The friendly neighbors are more than willing to share whichever one you may choose.  The same is not true in the US. You can’t ask the neighbors for any plants, unless they are family members or close friends. You are not even allowed to pick any flowers even in parks or else you get a citation.

Where do you go then for your gardening needs? In nurseries or hardware stores? I prefer the latter though because of their plant guarantee. Home Depot and Lowe’s offer a one year guarantee.  Just keep the receipt and UPC code, if anything happens, a replacement or refund can be done within one year of purchase. But the best policy is what Orchard Supply and Hardware (OSH) has. Mind you, they have a lifetime guarantee on plants? Too good to be true, right?

I bought two bromeliads but after two weeks , the plants died. I went back to the store and have the plants replaced. Do you think the plants survived this time? One did but the other one, died again after a month. Yeah, I went back to OSH but, instead of asking for a replacement, I tried asking for a refund. I felt sorry that every time the plant ends up dead and be replaced, the store will be losing more money. The store manager though said he could only allow an exchange, not a refund.  Whatever…I have a live plant again:)

How many more times do you think will I come back for a replacement? As long as it takes. After all, it’s a lifetime guarantee. Do you think I’m abusing the stores’ policy?

Update: The other bromeliad I exchanged in November is dying. Should I ask again for an exchange? Anyway, the nearest OSH is along my daily route. But is it time to give up on these bromeliads or should I still use the guarantee?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 01/25/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Buy Plants from Hardware Stores, Not Nurseries (Seriously???)

  1. FedEngr

    01/26/2011 at 11:38 am

    I think Bromeliads do not last long. My office decorates the lobby with Bromeliads. I see them get replaced every change of season. I’d like to see who will give up first: the plant, you or OSH. I guess I have to bookmark this post.

     
    • USpinay

      01/26/2011 at 1:04 pm

      Yeah, it’s something to watch out for. I’m still debating whether to ask for another exchange or feel sorry with OSH and just give up. I’ll give you updates.

       

Leave a Reply

 
