RSS

New Facebook Scam Spreading

04 Apr

This morning, Facebook users woke up to a new Facebook scam that spams your Facebook friends via Chat. The scam begins with a chat message which looks like this:

and includes a link that brings the user to an application installation window.

If you click “Allow,” you are taken to a site that displays 45 photoshopped images of people’s faces on animals’ bodies none of which belongs to the person who followed the link as shown here:

M86 Security Labs reports that 88,000 people per hour have clicked on these links and over 600,000 profile have fallen victim to this viral threat.

If you or anyone you know have been tricked into installing this application, you can start by removing the application from your Facebook profile.  Visit the Privacy Settings page and click on ‘Edit Your Settings’ under Apps and Websites.

Please inform family and friends on Facebook about this scam that is spreading before it gets worse.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 04/04/2011 in Global News

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “New Facebook Scam Spreading

  1. Chloe

    04/04/2011 at 3:18 pm

    It’s good I opted out of chat since my friends have nothing better to do but chit chat.

     
  2. JustaGuy

    04/05/2011 at 3:09 am

    My facebook account is just for me to look at somebody else’s posting whenever they tell me so. I don’t post my privatw life on facebook. I guess that is the reason why it’s called private, hello! i don’t also care avout somebody else’s private life. I don’t have so much time to waste. So, no facebook for me!

     
  3. Mama Mia

    04/06/2011 at 11:19 am

    I don’t allow any apps in my account.

     
  4. Sue

    04/06/2011 at 3:02 pm

    Why can’t people respect privacy? Why do they always try to find a way to scam others?

     

Leave a Reply

 
