RSS

Red Riding Hood Is a Joke

10 Mar

Last Tuesday, I was among the lucky few who got free tickets to the screening of Red Riding Hood starring Amanda Seyfried which was held at the Kodak Theater in Hollywood.

I wasn’t very keen on going because I had this feeling that I might not like this movie. This film seems like a bore to me but since I have nothing better to do that night, I decided to go. And….I was right!

The film started with an over view of the forest which made me feel like watching a Twilight movie. That feeling was intensified when I saw Billy Burke’s name in the opening credits. He is the same guy who played Bella’s father in Twilight. Did Catherine Hardwicke do this intentionally to catch viewers’ attention? Well, she did but for all the wrong reasons. But before I lambaste her with my criticisms, let me tell you what the movie’s about.

Amanda Seyfried plays Valerie,whose older sister was killed by the werewolf. Her parents had arranged for her to marry wealthy Henry (Max Irons) but loves poor Peter (Shiloh Fernandez) instead. The guys rivalry reminded me of Edward and Jacob’s. It was also very painful to watch the scenes with these two men together. Both can’t act. It’s so bad that I felt like watching an audition.

After a few minutes that the film started, I fell asleep but didn’t seem like missing anything.To continue…

The villagers sought the help of Father Solomon (Gary Oldman) to kill the wolf. But Solomon warned them that the wolf could be any of them. This is the point when the audience was made to guess who the wolf might be. Could it be Henry? or Peter? or Valerie’s grandmother (Julie Christie).

I don’t want to spoil the movie by telling you who it is but it was shocking when it was revealed. Now, this is the part that my mind was tracing with too many questions. How could Valerie not know? If Henry knew how the wolf smell like, how can’t she? Why didn’t the wolf just told Valerie about the secret? If the wolf, just asked her to sit down and talk, then their conversation will be done in two minutes. If they did, nobody gets killed and there will be no chaos in the village.

Hardwicke was also not able to bring out the best from Seyfried either. It was funny how they added that scene when Valerie had to ask how big her grandmother’s eyes, ears and teeth had grown. She asked her in a tone just like the little girl in the book “Little Red Riding Hood”.

Another funny moment was when she ran away from the wolf towards her grandmother’s house. After closing the door, she scooped food from the pot and started eating. If you are running away from a killer wolf, would you even have the appetite to eat?

Then, the weapon used to kill the wolf was also funny or should I say cheesy?

I am shocked that Leonardo DiCaprio produced this movie. How did this movie escape his meticulous eye? That’s my biggest question mark….

I could still ask tons of questions but it might just bore you. After reading this review, would you still go and see this movie?

For now, I nominate this movie, Hardwicke, Amanda, Max and Shiloh to next year’s Razzie Awards.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 03/10/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Red Riding Hood Is a Joke

  1. Jojo

    03/10/2011 at 12:22 pm

    Thanks for the post. At least, I won’t even waste my time on this crap.

     
  2. UmpUp

    03/10/2011 at 8:41 pm

    I didn’t even there would be such a movie. I never cared then. Why would I care now? Good to know I was right not to care at all. Thanks!

     
  3. Chloe

    03/10/2011 at 11:28 pm

    Is this worse than Jennifer’s Body? Well, I guess Amanda is not too picky with her roles in a movie. What a smart way to protect one’s career.

     

Leave a Reply

 
