RSS

Mexican Foods by George Foreman

06 Mar

Okay, it’s not what you think. George Foreman, himself is not making any Mexican foods. It’s me who’s making it in his George Foreman Grill.

This George Foreman grill has been very useful for us in making burger patties or grilling chicken, fish fillets or just about anything. My kids make grilled cheese sandwich on it, too. It’s easy to use because you just have to plug it. It sloped design channels fat away from food and into the dip tray. It’s also very easy to clean. All you have to do is wash the dip tray and wipe the plates with paper towel.

While this grill has been used many times in our household for may reasons, we never tried this in making any Mexican food until this weekend.

When I went to the Mexican supermarket, I bought a pack of freshly cooked corn tortillas for 99c. I decided to make tacos for dinner so I grabbed fresh tomatoes, avocados,cilantro, jalapeno peppers, sour cream and ground beef. I still have refried beans and shredded mozzarella cheese at home. I also bought eggs, the real reason I was there because it was on sale, 2 trays of 20 XL eggs for $5.

When I got home, I fried some garlic, onions and saute the beef. Then, I added taco seasoning, pepper and salt to give it some flavor. The tortilla was then heated on the GF grill which is a lot better than a regular pan since both sides were heated at the same time. That night, we enjoyed these tacos with salsa, refried beans, guacamole and sour cream. Yummy!

The following day, I used the leftover beef to make quesadillas for snack. In between two tortillas, I threw some beef, mozzarella cheese and cooked it in the GF grill for 2 minutes. We enjoyed quesadillas again with salsa, guacamole and sour cream.

So the last two days, we had some Mexican food with the help of GF grill. The beef and garnishing are all gone but we still have some tortillas. Gee, that 99c sure does have a lot in the package.

I decided to cook breakfast burritos and make use of the eggs. I fried bacon, sausage and ham, potatoes and scrambled the egg. Then I heated the tortilla in the grill again and wrapped all ingredients on it with grated cheese.

I think I had enough Mexican foods for this week. Thank you, George Foreman for your help…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 03/06/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Mexican Foods by George Foreman

  1. FoodBum

    03/06/2011 at 3:56 pm

    Yumyum! I need to get that grill. I also make tacos but use microwave to warm up tortillas. My daughter also likes grilled cheese sandwich.

     
  2. Chloe

    03/07/2011 at 1:05 am

    You can also cook fajitas and wrap in tortillas.

     
  3. Lolita

    03/07/2011 at 1:06 am

    Mexican foods are cheap and very easy to prepare.

     
  4. Sam

    03/07/2011 at 9:46 am

    You can do a lot of things for that inexpensive tortilla such as tortilla soup, wraps, rolls, chips, etc. The possibilities are endless.

     
  5. Sam

    03/07/2011 at 9:50 am

    George Foreman is my best friend. He prepares a lot of meal for me. I would throw frozen steaks, burgers, chicken and fish on the grill and they will be cooked in no time at all. What of the best kitchen gadgets invention. Love it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
