RSS

Facebook Stalker

20 Feb

More than a week ago, a restraining order has been issued against a stalker of Mark Zuckerberg, founder of Facebook . News reports refer to this person as the “Facebook Stalker”.

Even before this bit of news made it to the headlines, my youngest son had been calling me a “Facebook Stalker” for a long, long time. Why? During the time that I didn’t have my own Facebook account yet, my son has allowed me to use his account to search for family and friends, snoop on their whereabouts, find out what’s going on their lives and most especially browse through their photo albums.  That’s how I earned the name “Facebook Stalker”.

A month ago, I finally opened a Facebook account. Why did it take for me a long time to do so?

Facebook didn’t appeal to me because I was adamant that I don’t feel the need to update the world on what I do (past, present, future). That was then but now, my concept had entirely changed.

Although I didn’t use my real name (but rather “Us Pinay”) on my Facebook account, I posted a single photo of mine so people would recognize me.

With that single photo and an invite, the rest was history.  Like wildfire, I got connected with relatives and friends from all over the US, Canada, Philippines, UK, Middle East, Australia, South Africa and different parts of Asia. Within a month, I now have 78 friends and still counting.

Did I stop there? I’m telling you, I’m totally hooked. With the success I had connecting with long-lost family and friends, I decided to set-up another account “US Pinay Blog” for my blog site. Now, I have not just one account but two. I’m the biggest flip-flopper ever.

How about you? Do you have a Facebook account yet?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 02/20/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Facebook Stalker

  1. Mr. X

    02/20/2011 at 10:04 am

    No, thanks. Still no Facebook for me. I’m hiding from my creditors and former mistresses.

     
  2. Sailor Moon

    02/20/2011 at 10:07 am

    I love that you can chat and message your friends. I’m looking forward to the phone feature as previously speculated. That would eliminate long distance call charges.

     
  3. aren

    02/21/2011 at 5:08 am

    what makes it more interesting is you can look and find for your long lost friends (and special interest!), send messages, post pictures, links and notes. chatting is also another feature. you can also set the degree of exposure you want to have and how much others can “stalk” you..

     
  4. Jojo

    02/21/2011 at 12:12 pm

    It’s nice to catch up with long lost friends and relatives without picking up the phone and spend my precious dollar in phone charges. I just check out the latest about them via facebook.

     
  5. Mama Mia

    02/21/2011 at 12:14 pm

    Mark Zuckerberberg is a genius!

     
  6. Ignatz Fungo

    02/22/2011 at 10:46 am

    I had a Face Book MySpace YouTwitFace Account for a time until my not-so-cool in-laws decided I could not post information concerning their recently hospitalized Grand Mother.
    My wife was the contact person in case her mother went into the hospital and we figured it would be the quickest way to alert the 138 spasmodic teenage grand kids and cousins as to Grandma’s condition and give out the hospital contact information.
    We were wrong. The mother hen of the Face Group chastised us and our post and forbade us from posting “Personal” information on Face Face.
    And here I thought that was what it was for!
    So no, I closed my account and have felt better ever since.

     
  7. ZuckerBlood

    02/22/2011 at 11:01 am

    It’s really nice to find people you are searching for. However, way more often than not. I see people I don’t want to see. I also wonder why most of them post pictures that are not so great. They should have FB friends to tell them “Don’t”. Ahhh, people!

     

Leave a Reply

 
