RSS

Vicks VapoRub

19 Feb

During this season, a lot of people are getting sick and suffering from a prolonged bout with cold and dry cough. I remember growing up and having my mom put Vicks VapoRub in my nostrils for sinus congestion relief and rubbing it to my chest for cough relief.

Vicks VapoRub? What is it? Vicks is an age-old mentholated topical cream intended to relieve head, throat, and chest stuffiness. It uses menthol to elicit a response from receptors in the nose and chest and work wonders on people with colds or chronic bronchitis. Vicks has been around for over one hundred years and is one of the most widely used over-the-counter decongestants.

Vicks also has a lot of other unique and unconventional uses. The ointment relieves sore, overworked muscles; gets rid of nasty nail fungus; cures dry, cracked heels, athletes feet, eczema; relieves headaches; heals paper cuts and splinters;  dissolves bruises; and relieves itchiness  from ticks, bugs and mosquitoes. It also can be used as pet deterrent, insect-repellent and stage tears (to earn you a best actress award).

But what are these stories I’m hearing that Vicks is more effective if applied on the feet. Really? I never heard of this before so the usual skeptical me started doing a research to verify this “supposed-to-be” proven method. And here’s what I read…

To stop night time coughing, put Vicks VapoRub generously on the soles of your feet, cover with socks, and the heavy, deep coughing will stop and give many hours of relief. It’s said to be more effective than prescription cough medicines. In addition, it is said to be extremely soothing and comforting which makes you to sleep soundly.

Although these claims have been neither scientifically tested nor proven, a lot of  people who have tried it insist the treatment really works. Vincent Iannelli, MD, a board certified pediatrician, said menthol acts to dilate the blood vessels in the feet, which triggers a reflex that quiets the cough. I am not familiar with reflexology but this probably makes sense.

I still need to try this to believe this urban legend. Has anyone of you tried this before?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 02/19/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Vicks VapoRub

  1. aren

    02/19/2011 at 2:22 am

    yes, it’s true and proven to relieve from persistent, dry and un-productive cough. however, sometimes i felt so warm and don’t know if this is also attibuted to that method.

     
  2. Jeniston

    02/19/2011 at 3:15 am

    Oh my beloved Vicks. Can’t live without it.

     
  3. Jo

    02/19/2011 at 6:10 am

    To many it may sound stupid but Vicks really works. My husband being born here never believe me when I told him about the value of vicks but now he is a believer. One time he had a mosquito bite( insects like to bite him). I rubbed the bitten area with vicks and no swelling or redness appear. He also started using vicks for other purposes especially when he had a cold and it really worked. So start using. It is not a myth but a proven fact.

     
  4. Stupid Cupid

    02/20/2011 at 10:00 am

    Can’t live without it. I have it in all of my bedrooms and medicine cabinet. Every family member has each own jar.

     
    • USpinay

      02/20/2011 at 10:11 am

      Good idea. I hate it that others stick their fingers in the jar and put it in body parts I don’t want to know.

       
  5. Sam

    02/20/2011 at 10:02 am

    Do you know that it also cures hemorrhoidal problems? I put a small amount in my itchy a–.

     

Leave a Reply

 
