RSS

Health Benefits of Lemon and Gaviola

18 Feb

You probably received in one of your emails a scientific report about the benefits of lemon. If you haven’t, here’s the summary of that report.

The Institute of Health Sciences says that lemon destroys the malignant cells in 12 TYPES OF CANCER, including colon, breast, prostate, lung and pancreas. This tree is 10,000 times better than the chemotherapeutic drug Adriamycin, slowing the growth of cancer cells. Its taste is pleasant and does NOT produce the horrific effects of chemotherapy.

The lemon is  also considered as anti microbial spectrum against bacterial infections and fungi; effective against parasites and worms; regulates high-blood pressure;  and is an anti-depressant, combats stress and nervousness.

While researching on the validity of the said topic, I came across a similar report from studies made by the Health Sciences Institute in partnership with the Cancer Institute saying that Gaviola has similar cancer-fighting components. But what is gaviola? Gaviola is from the Annona family and is more commonly known as soursop (guyabano). Other varieties include anonas, durian, sugar-apple (atis) and cherimoya.

Its leaves, seeds and fruits can also be used as Analgesic, Antibacterial, Anticancer, Antiparasitic, Antispasmodic, Antitumor, Asthma, Astringent, Childbirth, Chills, Fevers, Flu, Diuretic, Gall-Bladder Tea, Hypertension, High Blood Pressure, Insomnia, Nervousness, Palpitation, Rheumatism, Rash, Skin Disease, Sedative/Tranquilizer.

Well, who knew? The next time I have them, I’ll appreciate it more than just enjoying their taste. My mission today –  to buy guyabano juice from Seafood City.


 
5 Comments

Posted by on 02/18/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Health Benefits of Lemon and Gaviola

  1. Jo

    02/18/2011 at 4:38 am

    I love guyabano. Now, I have more reason to eat them. Because of its sour/sweet taste, I’ll derive health benefits for my body. Actually when I visit the Philippines, that is the first thing I look for. Too bad, they don’t grow here.

     
  2. AnJolie

    02/18/2011 at 9:44 am

    My daughter uses lemon to anything she eats. I thought it was weird that I almost told her to stop. Now I envy her. Gotta learn to use it too.
    Thanks for the article.

     
  3. BEN

    02/18/2011 at 10:50 am

    BEN

    Good job Amie, your doing a great favor to those who will be benefited to

    all the imfo, especially on the subject of Lemon & Gayubano.

     
  4. SBF

    02/18/2011 at 11:33 am

    Nice to know… How about kalamansi? We got lemon fruits, so any time you need some just give us a call. I pick some of the last fruits of the chiramoya tree. I will try to share some in the next crop.

     
    • USpinay

      02/20/2011 at 10:12 am

      As far as I know, any fruits under the citrus family are said to give same benefits.

       

Leave a Reply

 
