RSS

Frugal or Just Plain Cheap?

02 Feb

One day a friend invited me to have lunch with her. When she came to pick me up, I struggled boarding her car. Why? It’s because there are empty soda cups all over the floor of her car. I saw cups from about every fast food chain in the area such as McDo, KFC, Burger King, etc. She said that she’s saving them for her future visits to these places so she doesn’t need to order sodas. She just goes straight to soda machine for refills.

Another girl had mentioned to me that she collects McDonald’s barbecue sauce and use them when she cooks chicken wings. Another male friend told me that he knows somebody who never buys condiments because he just picks them up from fast food chains.

I have probably done my own share of stinginess but I doubt I would go to these extremities. I am guilty so far of enjoying a free breakfast in IKEA, a lot of BOGO free meals, lining up on free movie screenings and clipping tons of coupons.

How about you? How far would you go to enjoy free stuff?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 02/02/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Frugal or Just Plain Cheap?

  1. Arnold

    01/18/2011 at 5:17 pm

    I used to collect condiments from different fast food restaurants but I found it unnecessary and meaningless because it just sits in my kitchen counter for weeks, months, and perhaps years without using them. It just adds up to my “junks” as well. But most of all, it is a waste to collect them if I cannot use them. So I stopped collecting and for most part, I make sure that I only get what I really need if ever I stop by at these fast food restaurants, which is very rare for me nowadays.

    One thing that I still collect though are the napkins. I can use them at home and they do not expire. But dont call me a “cheal skate” because I only take home the ones that was given to me with the food and instead of throwing them in the trash unused, I rather bring them home so I can use them when I need to.

     
  2. Jovy

    01/19/2011 at 4:42 pm

    It’s wonderful to know that there is a consolidation of important news and events altogether in one blog. Keep up the good work. Congratulations for a job well done!

     
    • USpinay

      01/19/2011 at 9:27 pm

      Best effort is made to update readers of the latest news here in the U.S., the Philippines and Filipino communities around the globe. Thank you…

       

Leave a Reply

 
