RSS

Sleep Paralysis

01 Feb

On this lazy afternoon, I just had the chance to watch “Inception”, which was hailed as 2010 movie of the summer. Although there was much hype and considered a monstrous hit, I never had the chance to see it in theaters. Now, I know why. It was brilliantly made and it has a plot that was never, ever used before  which is about “a dream within in a dream”.

I’m not here to discuss about my own review of the film which doesn’t really matter anymore. I want to talk about the added bonus feature on the DVD which is a documentary about dreams and dream experiences of people.

I want to share about my own. I had this frightening experience of waking up but finding myself not able to move.  I saw shadows and heard noises around me. I felt a heavy weight pressing on my chest. I tried screaming and asking for help for somebody to get me up, but no voice came out of my mouth. Feeling helpless, I started praying and soon found myself being fully awake thereafter.

This had happened to me several times but never given it farther thought. I have always dismissed it as one of those really bad nightmares (or bangungot). I have never discussed it with anyone until now.

After watching the movie though, I started doing a research about it. I never knew that this is very common to people!!! Only today that I learned that this is known to be “sleep paralysis”.

A scientific explanation for this is about the body being on a state of half-asleep, half-awake condition. But others regard these as works of the devil or aliens. Who knows???

Have you had this same experience????

Update: If you haven’t watched the movie, go check it out. I’m sure you’ll love it. Eight Oscar nominations prove how great this movie is. I, myself, am planning to see it again. Enjoy….

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 02/01/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Sleep Paralysis

  1. Jo

    02/02/2011 at 6:11 am

    Speaking about sleep paralysis, I had experienced that too. Lucky for me I would scream and my husband would wake me up. What a relief to know that it was only a dream or shall I say a nightmare?

     
    • USpinay

      02/02/2011 at 9:03 am

      Your lucky that you were able to scream and somebody woke you up. It’s worse when you’re trying to scream for help but no voice would come out no matter how hard you try.

       
  2. J.S.

    02/02/2011 at 1:50 pm

    I would experience the same. That was when I was still young. I was told by my doctor that it usually happens when your wisdom are starting to come out. I believed him because as soon as I had my wisdom teeth extracted, that sleep paralysis went away.

     
    • USpinay

      02/02/2011 at 2:50 pm

      I never had any wisdom tooth but this condition still continues. I don’t know what’s the reason for this.

       
  3. ABC

    02/02/2011 at 4:27 pm

    Wow! This is really scary just like how I felt while watching this film. I was at the edge of my seat. By the way, I am still trying to figure out how the many ended. Was Leo in the real world or was he still dreaming?

     
    • USpinay

      02/02/2011 at 4:51 pm

      The debate is still on. I think they let the movie end that way to keep the audience hungry for more “Inception”. I wanna bet. A sequel will be in the works soon. I would love to see the sequel in 3D.

       

Leave a Reply

 
