RSS

Lady, Get In Line!!!

25 Jan

When I was preparing dinner before I leave the house for an important meeting, I realized I forgot an important ingredient needed to complete the task. Since 99c store is just around the corner, I rushed over there, grabbed the item and headed towards the check-outs.

To my dismay, only two registers were open with long queues of customers carrying basketful of commodities. Since I was in hurry and with only one item on hand, I stood beside one of the cashiers who was ringing up a customer at that time. After apologizing, I asked her if I could just hand her $1 bill and leave. This is a strategy I have learned from other customers before and never had a problem until today.

Before the cashier was able to respond, the customer yelled at me and said that I have to wait for my turn. Another customer told me to go at the end of the line where five more people were waiting by now. Feeling so embarrassed, I turned around and debated if I should still wait in line or just go home.

Really…how hard is it for people to grant this simple request? How could they be so inconsiderate when I have always been accommodating to other people in a similar situation? I even volunteer for the person behind me to go ahead if she just has an item or two.

Still the merchandise on hand, I asked the other cashier. No question asked, she took the money as I happily headed towards the exit.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 01/25/2011 in Blogs

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Lady, Get In Line!!!

  1. J. S.

    01/19/2011 at 11:29 am

    Oh! I didn’t know we can do that. You just gave me an idea. I’ll try that strategy next time, that is if I’m brave enough. I think I’m too shy…

     
    • USpinay

      01/19/2011 at 1:09 pm

      Oh, yes you can. The cashier does it in two different ways.(1) After checking out previous customer, cashier ring it up as misc. item and tender cash. Or (2)scan the item while ringing up a customer and add payment to the sale. I’ve seen it before as I was standing in line and did the same as the need arises.

       
  2. FedEngr

    01/26/2011 at 12:08 pm

    Go for it, J.S.! Let me know if you get successful.

     
  3. dom

    01/27/2011 at 6:27 am

    99c plus tax, kulang yung dollar mo ! hello classmate……

     
    • USpinay

      01/27/2011 at 8:45 am

      Classmate, you don’t pay tax for unprocessed food.

       
      • USpinay

        01/27/2011 at 7:50 pm

        For produce, $1 is fine. For other items, you have to leave $1.10 to the cashier to cover tax

         
  4. bella34

    01/28/2011 at 3:29 pm

    I need to trycthis trick

     

Leave a Reply

 
