RSS

Mt. Pinatubo Adventure

23 Jan

During my trip to the Philippines last summer, I stumbled upon a classmate whom I haven’t seen for ages. After catching up on what’s going with our lives, he told me that he’s going to Mt. Pinatubo the following day with several friends. He invited me to come along and my response was …. “what in the world should I drive all the way there just to see lahar”. He told me that it’s actually a nice place for sight- seeing. I didn’t really believe him but out of curiosity and to avoid boredom during my vacation, I decided to join them.

After a few hours’ drive to Capas,Tarlac, the adventure began. At this point, only 4×4 jeeps are allowed to enter. After paying the required entrance, we soon embark to an amazing journey. We passed through monstrous boulders of sand and muddy creeks. During this hour drive, we saw wild cows and carabaos frolicking around. We also chanced upon some native Aetas walking under the scorching heat of the sun whose village we passed by along the way.

Finally, we reached a point when we had to disembark and hike up the crater. It was really a wonderful hiking experience. We passed through rocky pathways with lahar boulders on the sides. This turned into a narrow path with lots of luscious green and fauna and a small, clear creek flowing along. Soon, we reached the top and I tell you it’s ALL worth it.

Here in front of me was a magnificent view of what’s left of the devastating volcanic eruption. After all, the wreck and havoc the explosion caused in 1991, a crater lake was formed and turned this place to paradise. With my jaws dropped and eyes wide-opened, I gazed through this incredible beauty of nature in disbelief.

Please see some pictures during my trip. Next time you come to the Philippines for a visit, make sure to add Mt. Pinatubo in your list of must-see places.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 01/23/2011 in Blogs, Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Mt. Pinatubo Adventure

  1. rene san andres

    01/25/2011 at 11:23 pm

    fascinating and beautiful…

     
  2. Tony B.

    01/25/2011 at 11:55 pm

    What a beautiful pictures you have, thanks for sharing. I hope someday could also visit the place.

     
  3. Jo

    01/26/2011 at 7:44 am

    would love to go to Mt. Pinatubo on my next trip.

     
  4. Ignatz Fungo

    01/26/2011 at 8:59 am

    Reminds me of the Mount Saint Helen’s Story, where a similar natural recovery took place much sooner than scientists predicted. Apparently, God works in mysterious ways that scientists can’t understand yet. Silly Scientists!

     
  5. FedEngr

    01/26/2011 at 11:34 am

    I always go to the Phils. but never been to Pinatubo. I’ll make sure to visit next time.
    Please blog more of these fascinating places.
    Thanks!

     
    • USpinay

      01/26/2011 at 1:02 pm

      Watch out for trip to Ilocos. I promise this will be a good one.

       
    • USpinay

      01/26/2011 at 9:38 pm

      You can go boating, kayaking and swimming in the lake. If you plan to stay overnight, bring camping tents. Visit the Hot Spring Resort upon return to Capas and enjoy the spa. Nice!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
